Foreign Service as Family

In my last post, I explained why the last few weeks have been the worst of my life.

One silver lining–all of my friends, family, and colleagues have been amazing.  I have had more support than I ever would have assumed possible.  In particular, one of my A-100 colleagues took up a collection, and we came home to a bouquet of daisies, a houseplant, food in the fridge, relaxation creams and such, and a clean kitchen.  (She’d also done some of our laundry!)  That my whole class came together to do this for us means the world to me.

The Ambassador at my last post also took up a collection to give to charity in my mother’s name, and I received all kinds of supportive emails, phone calls, etc.

You all made me feel loved and a part of something bigger.  Thank you.

Comments are closed.