Oh god, it’s real

Tickets aren’t actually bought yet, but the reservation has been made. We’ve also reserved a space in the cabin for the Freelancing Cat. (We still need to buy a new carrier for him. That will come soon.)

August 1st, we leave the US for two years. It’s real now.

I’m incredibly excited, but I’m also incredibly anxious. I’ve lived abroad before, but only for 4 months, and that was 10 years ago. This has been my dream job ever since, but it’s entirely different when it’s staring you in the face and happening. I don’t feel ready (in large part because I’m still in language training, and haven’t had my “job training” yet). I do feel like I can speak French well enough, which is kind of amazing in and of itself.

I have other worries (more personal, about family, missing them, and even possibly losing my sense of self/home/background), but I think those are less coherent at this point. I think this expresses some of it well:

However, there are MANY things I’m looking forward to. I’m looking forward to exploring another culture. I’m looking forward to serving my country, which has given me so very much. And, I’ll be honest, I’m looking forward to this:

Obviously, I don’t own this picture, but found it on Flickr, and am linking to that.

Particularly, the mangoes. And the pineapples. Oh, and the bananas… (I love RIPE bananas.)

So, in the end, I’m very nervous, very excited, and both can’t wait for and am dreading the day of departure.

C’est normal? J’espere!

Comments are closed.