French evaluation, and medical issues

French has been going, and continues to go, very well. The language learning process at FSI is way more successful than I could have ever imagined. I am able to actually speak French, something that took me years to do in Chinese (and years of practice of Russian never really brought me).

However, one big hiccup hit last month, which through my plans into a bit of a tumble. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had some physical issues. My rheumatologist sent me to see a gastroenterologist, who wanted to do a colonoscopy. And, without thinking, I scheduled it for last week.

Three days after my wisdom teeth were coming out.

So, I spent one day alternately in great pain and completely numb, one day vomitting (due to vicodin), one day utterly spent and drained (and thus home from work–seriously I couldn’t think) and also fasting and purging for the c-scopy, and then a day in the hospital. I lost most of a week’s worth of work, drained and exhausted.

And then, this week, I had my exam.

And yet, I still rocked it anyway. Well, I got my 2/2, which means I’m definitely on track to where I’m supposed to be. I was very relieved to see that.

(By the way, the c-scopy came back completely normal, meaning it’s back to the rheumatologist tomorrow.)

So, more tests, and more French. Life continues on. C’est la vie.

(sorry for no pictures, but you REALLY don’t want any for this post.)

Comments are closed.